What is the Medicine Wheel?

November 22, 2019 | By More

Here is a short introduction – the tip of the iceberg – I have a word limit…

The Medicine Wheel could be called the cover page to Indigenous Peoples’ cosmology. It has been around for over 2,000 years and put in place in approximately 500 BC. I propose to you that the Medicine Wheel is a  moral compass, an owner’s manual on how to live life on Earth for all People!

It is also known as the Wheel of Life, the Circle of Life, the Sacred Hoop and its teachings can also be found under the title of the Sacred Tree.

As you can see, there are four equal quadrants to the Wheel. I have added my creative touch by placing a heart in the center. These colours represent the major human skin colours found on the Earth. There are no delineating lines between the colours, which indicates that we are all equal, one family sharing one home.

White represents winter, the cardinal point North, the element Earth and the time of our senior years on Earth. It represents our physical aspect of being human. The power-animals assigned are Great White Buffalo/Bison.

Yellow represents new beginnings as we see in Spring and where the sun rises, the East. Its element is air. This is where our birth and childhood growth takes place. It represents the mental aspect of being human. The Eagle/Hawk sit here.

Red represents the South, summer, water. We learn to expand our horizons as to what we want to do with our life and where we develop emotionally. Coyote/Wolf are the boss here.

Black is the one aspect of the Medicine Wheel that is misunderstood. But like all other colours, it is universal to every single human being on the Planet and has an equal share – most call it the spiritual aspect of being human. It is actually the sacred energy aspects of all of Life. This is where you find the language of the Soul and the understanding of soul/psychic gifts.

Black represents the West, autumn, fire and its theme is introspection or self-analysis. This is a time where you establish yourself in Life. The power-animals here are Grizzly Bear/Cougar.

There are seven moral teachings: Love, Respect, Courage, Honesty, Wisdom, Humility and Truth.

It’s underlying themes are Unity, Balance, Harmony, Movement, Growth and Attunement. It is a path to self-mastery where the balance is obtained by including all aspects of Life, including learning from Mother Nature and all of its elements.

Imagine, if we are spirits having a human, terrestrial experience, since we all come from the same Source, everything that was created is also a spirit having a terrestrial experience…everything has consciousness and deserves respect.

My speciality is in the Spirit of the West – introspection, the language of the Soul, sacred energy healing and training. Reach out if I can be of service to you.

Diane Oliver

Medicine Woman

Shamanic Energy Healing, Training & Mentoring

613-261-1602 / dignity101.com


Category: Articles, Spirituality & Meditation

Comments are closed.